Sign up
Live

Free training. Real certifications.

Programs with free training, some written for HBCU students, alumni and faculty and some open well beyond them. Each card says whether the credential is covered too, links to the sponsor’s own page, and has who can apply in the sponsor’s words, usually behind a tap.

Written for this community.

5 of 18 programs here name HBCU students, alumni or faculty in their own eligibility.

Filter by field, by who can apply, and by what is free.

18 programs. 8 include the credential at no cost, and 1 has a dated round open today.

18 of 18 programs

Field
Who can apply
Cost

HBCU Founders Initiative

Free training

Better Futures Pre-Accelerator

A startup pre-accelerator for HBCU founders, with weekly virtual sessions, mentorship and in-person programming at partner HBCUs.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“Our virtual cohort is open to students and alumni from all HBCUs nationwide.”

  • Business
  • Hybrid
  • HBCU students
  • HBCU alumni

Amazon Web Services

Free training

AWS Educate

Self-paced cloud and AI lessons with free hands-on labs.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“AWS Educate is open to any individual, regardless of where they are in their education, technical experience, or career journey.”

“Learners as young as 13 can register for AWS Educate with just an email address”

  • Cloud and AI
  • Online
  • Other eligibility rules

Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency

Free training

CISA Learning

The federal cybersecurity agency’s online courses, including prep for Ethical Hacking, CISM and CISSP certifications.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“CISA Learning is available to federal, state, local, tribal, and territorial (SLTT) government staff and contractors, Veterans and military personnel, and U.S. residents.”

  • Cybersecurity
  • Online
  • Other eligibility rules

Harvard University

Free, credential included

CS50’s Introduction to Computer Science

Eleven weeks of material. Passing the problem sets and final project earns a free CS50 Certificate; edX’s verified certificate is separate and paid.

On cost, in the sponsor’s words

“Even if you are not a student at Harvard, you are welcome to “take” this course for free”

  • Software
  • Online
  • Open to anyone

freeCodeCamp

Free, credential included

freeCodeCamp

A coding curriculum from a nonprofit, with verified certifications of around 300 hours each.

On cost, in the sponsor’s words

“all freely available to the public.”

  • Software
  • Online
  • Open to anyone

Society for Financial Education & Professional Development

Free, credential included

Mind Over Money Skills Financial Literacy Certificate

Eight modules from budgeting and credit to student loans, investing and estate planning. Scoring at least 70% on the assessments earns a digital badge through Credly.

On cost, in the sponsor’s words

“Each online digital credentialing module takes approximately one hour to complete and is available to all currently enrolled HBCU students for free.”

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“If you are not a college/university student and are interested in taking the Mind Over Money Skills online financial literacy course, please contact certificate@sfepd.org”

  • Business
  • Online
  • HBCU students

Modern States

Free training

Modern States courses

College-level courses that prepare you for CLEP exams, which a college may accept for credit. A voucher covers the CLEP exam fee once you pass the course.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“Anyone 13 and older is eligible to create a Modern States account, take Modern States courses, and earn CLEP exam vouchers”

What it can still cost, in the sponsor’s words

“some test centers may charge an additional administration fee that students must pay separately.”

  • Other
  • Online
  • Other eligibility rules

CodePath

Free training

CodePath courses

Ten-week, virtual, instructor-led courses in areas like AI engineering, web development, cybersecurity and interview prep.

On cost, in the sponsor’s words

“CS students and CodePath alumni enroll at no cost.”

  • Software
  • Online
  • Other eligibility rules

Generation

Free training

Generation JobSprint

Three weeks of help with your resume, LinkedIn and interviews, with one live evening session a week and three months of job search support.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“Currently reside in and have the legal right to work in the United States”

“The absolute minimum age is 18 years old, however this may vary per program.”

  • Other
  • Online
  • Other eligibility rules

KR Scholars and Grow with Google

Free, credential included

HBCU Campus to Career

Google certificates in IT support, UX design, data analytics, cybersecurity, digital marketing and project management, and the form also lists a Google AI certificate. The form asks if you can finish within four months.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“Current HBCU undergraduate (sophomore, junior, senior) or graduate student”

“Minimum 3.0 GPA”

“Preferred majors: Computer Science, Information Technology, Business, Marketing”

“Please use your .edu email address that was provided by your HBCU”

“Please provide your LinkedIn Profile URL”

“By submitting this form, you consent to the use of your headshot for promotional and marketing purposes related to KR Scholars and the Grow with Google partnership.”

  • Other
  • Format not stated
  • HBCU students

Red River

Free, credential included

HBCU Scholarship for CCNA Training

A competitive scholarship that trains HBCU educators to teach Cisco networking and CyberOps.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“for educators and administrators currently teaching at a Historically Black College or University (HBCU).”

  • IT and networking
  • Format not stated
  • HBCU faculty and staff

IBM

Free training

IBM SkillsBuild

Online lessons in AI, cybersecurity and data, with separate tracks for adult learners, university students and high school.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“IBM SkillsBuild for Adult learners is designed for learners (18+) seeking employment in the immediate future.”

“IBM SkillsBuild for High school students is designed for learners at the career exploration stage (aged 13 to 18).”

“Students from IBM’s partner Universities can earn digital credentials”

  • Cloud and AI
  • Online
  • Other eligibility rules

NPower

Free training

NPower Tech Fundamentals

Up to 20 weeks of instructor-led virtual IT training, with the opportunity to earn CompTIA certifications.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“Individuals aged 18-26 with a high school diploma or equivalent, OR military veterans and spouses over 21 (transitioning active-duty service members through the DoD SkillBridge program / honorably discharged / member of the Guard or Reserves) Applicants must reside in Baltimore, Brooklyn/New York City, Dallas, San Antonio, Houston, St. Louis, Kansas City, Raleigh”

  • IT and networking
  • Online
  • Other eligibility rules

Per Scholas

Free, credential included

Per Scholas

Live, instructor-led courses, most of them full-time, in IT support, cybersecurity, cloud, software engineering and Salesforce, remote, in person or hybrid.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“live within the eligible area for a Per Scholas campus (applies to in-person, remote, and hybrid courses); have basic digital literacy; meet our pre-training income policy guidelines; be able to meet attendance requirements for the duration of training (for most courses, this is 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday-Friday); be 18 or older; have a high school diploma, GED, or higher; provide proof of valid U.S. work authorization; be able to read, write, and speak English; and be ready to launch a tech career immediately after training.”

  • IT and networking
  • Hybrid
  • Other eligibility rules

SANS Institute

Free, credential included

SANS Cyber Academy

A competitive, self-paced program of SANS courses with GIAC exams, chosen by an aptitude assessment. Spring and fall application windows.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“Who is Eligible: U.S. citizens or legal permanent residents Applicants who show cybersecurity aptitude through an online assessment Active-duty service members must be within 6 months of separation (due to the program’s intensity) Not Eligible: Full-time students (due to the program’s intensity) Anyone with a graduate degree in cybersecurity or a related field (undergraduate degrees are okay)”

  • Cybersecurity
  • Online
  • Other eligibility rules

Break Through Tech

Free training

The AI Program

Virtual training in data science, AI and machine learning for undergraduates. Dates vary by cohort, and an interest form gives notice when applications open.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“Break Through Tech programs are open to undergraduate students attending a U.S.-based college or university pursuing tech-related fields.”

  • Data
  • Online
  • Other eligibility rules

Year Up United

Free training

Year Up United Career Pathways

Job training for young adults in a year or less, virtual and in person, with an internship phase and an educational stipend throughout.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“You must not be over the age of 29 when you are accepted into the program as a Career Pathways student.”

“require you to be 18 years old before the first day of your internship.”

“As long as you have not obtained a Bachelor's degree you are eligible to apply to the program”

“as long as you will receive your diploma or GED before Year Up United orientation.”

“all students must have U.S. work authorization, and be within commuting distance of a Year Up United location throughout the duration of the program.”

  • Other
  • Hybrid
  • Other eligibility rules

Thurgood Marshall College Fund and Google Cloud

Free, credential included

Google Career Launchpad

Nine weeks of cloud and generative AI training with mentorship, ending in a voucher for Google Cloud’s Generative AI Leader exam.

Who can apply, in the sponsor’s words

“Enrolled full-time in an accredited HBCU, HBCC, or PBI”

“Must be in good academic standing with no disciplinary infractions”

“This program is open to all university students within the TMCF network.”

  • Cloud and AI
  • Online
  • HBCU students
  • Minority-serving institutions

Read off the sponsor’s page, every time.

Each program is copied from the sponsor’s own site and checked again before it goes up: the page has to load, and the lines naming the program, saying it is free and saying who can apply all have to still be on it. The date on each card is the day that check last passed.

Free has two meanings here. “Free, credential included” means the sponsor’s page says the certificate or the certification exam is covered too. “Free training” means the lessons cost nothing and a credential may not; check the sponsor’s page. Where a sponsor says a learner can still be charged, the card quotes that line.

Who can apply is the sponsor’s decision, so it is quoted rather than summarized. Read the sponsor’s page before applying, because programs change between rounds. A listing here is not an endorsement or a partnership, and nobody pays to be on this page.

Looking for work rather than training? Jobs has openings at HBCUs and at employers hiring from them.